Go to Home Page
Contact Us
About Us
Catalog
Online Resources
Kids' Pages
Teen Pages
Reference Services
Local History
Upcoming Events
Non-Profit Resources
Michigan eLibrary
Meeting Rooms
Local Links
Friends of the Library
Site Index


Search library site
Search the Internet

Google

 

Winter Hours
(Start September 6, 2008)
Monday, Tuesday, 
& Thursday
 9:30 am - 8:30 pm
Wednesday,  Friday
   9:30 am - 5:30 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 1:30 pm
Sunday
Closed

Homeschool Resources

Library Safari

Lion running
Websites for and By Homeschoolers Websites for Kids

Homeschool Connections
 by Jeanne Noorma

http://www.homeschoolbuilding.org

Homeschool Connections is striving to connect homeschoolers in West Michigan with the information and events that will help them reach their home education goals.

Home Schooling E-Mail 
Discussion List
- Home-ed

Send an e-mail message to:   majordomo@world.std.com

In the body of the message, type:   Subscribe home-ed (your e-mail address)

Web Sites By and For Homeschoolers

Homeschool Central

http://homeschoolcentral.com
Homeschool mega site with a Christian emphasis includes study resources, curriculum and catalog guides and advice for new homeschoolers.

Homeschool World

http://www.home-school.com/
Designed and maintained by the publishers of Practical Homeschooling, Homeschool PC and Big Happy Family magazines.   Contains feature articles, product news, online courses, lesson plans, etc.

Amanda Bennett’s Unit Study Adventures

http://www.unitstudy.com/
Theme-based unit studies.

Jon’s Home-School Resource Page

http://www.midnightbeach.com/hs/
Comprehensive web site links to homeschool newsgroups, mailing list, homeschool links.

The Mining Company’s Homeschooling Page
http://homeschooling.miningco.com
This is one of the best sites for information and interactive games and resources and gives a list of subjects to be covered and objectives for grades preschool-12th.   It also has a wide variety of record keeping worksheets for parents.

TeAch-nology
http://www.teach-nology.com

Worksheets, teaching tips, lesson plans, and lots of information

FADL Teen Services

Learning Page.Com
http://www.learningpage.com

Site contains Basics sheets, theme sheets, and clipart that can be used for coloring

edHelper.Com
http://www.edhelper.com

10,960 free lesson plans for all grades and ages.

Nation Home Education Network 
http://www.nhen.org

Home School Legal Defense Association
http://www.hslda.org

Great Ideas in Education Orgainization
http://www.great-ideas.org/  

American Homeschool Association
http://www.americanhomeschoolassociation.org/
resources.html

Homeschooling Magazines on the Internet 
http://geocities.com/Athens/8259/homemag.html

Finding Homeschooling Support on the Internet
http://geocities.com/Athens/8259/  

Family Unschoolers Network  
http://www.unschooling.org/index.htm  

Learn in Freedom
http://learninfreedom.org/  

Home Education Magazine
http://home-ed-magazine.com/

World Books Encyclopedia:   
http://www.worldbook.com/wb/
Students?curriculum

Publication for Parents from the U.S. Department of Education http://www.ed.gov/parents/academic/help
/tools-for-success/index.html

Electronic versions of popular pamphlets and brochures designed to address parents’ concerns about their children’s education.  

Small Planet Communication Links for Teachers
http://www.smplanet.com/teachers/teachers.html

Links to general resources, lesson plans, and hotlists  

ABC Teach Network
http://www.abcteach.com

Site includes lesson plans and theme units.

Web Sites for Kids

Visit the Fremont Area District Library Youth Services Home Page


Sponsored by The Gerber Foundation.

Great Sites for Parents and Kids
http://www.ala.org/parentspage/greatsites/

700+ Great sites:   Amazing, Spectacular, Mysterious, Wonderful Web Sites for Kids and parents.

Yahooligans
http://www.yahooligans.com

A search engine for kids designed to offer links to kid-appropriate sites  

Pandora Briefcase:   A Kid’s Guide to Careers
http://library.thinkquest.org/
J001784/index1.htm

Designed to help kids answer the question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”
Suggested Grade:   2-8
This URL will lead you to a subject page.   Then click on the appropriate subject heading
Source:   ThinkQuest

The Imagination Factory  
http://www.kid-at-art.com/

Learn creative ways to recycle by making art projects.
Suggested Grade:   all ages
Format:   Web Site

NGA Kids Page
http://www.nga.gov/kids/
 

Includes activities and articles designed to help young children experience art and some of the stories behind it.  
Suggested Grade:   K-8
Source National Gallery of Art

Family Games
http://www.familygames.com

Links to non-violent, family games.

Kid’s World-Nutrition
http://www.agr.state.nc.us/cyber/
kidswrld/nutrition/index.htm
 

Lots of information for youngsters about proper nutrition
Suggested Grade”   K-4
Format:   Web Site

Produce Oasis
http://www.produceoasis.com/
Alpha_Folder/Alpha.html
 

Just click on a letter of the alphabet and find out about Nutrition information for the produce that begins with that letter
Suggested Grade:   4-12

Nutrition Explorations
http://www.nutritionexplorations.com

Lots of ways to teach about nutrition-includes links to separate sites for preK-4th grade students
Source:   National Dairy Council

Teen Central.Net
http://www.teencentral.net  

Allows teens to share their own stories, read stories by others, and get feedback from trained professionals who can help them
Suggested Grade:   6-12
Source:   KidsPeace

Freevibe
http://www.freevibe.com  

Students will find facts about drugs and drug abuse and tips on how to say “no”. Also includes a bulletin board for talk among peers.
Suggested Grade 4-12
Source Freevibe.com

No Cavities Club
http://kids-world.colgatepalmolive.com/

Dedicated to healthy teeth-Dr. Rabbit teaches young children about oral hygiene with interactive games, stories, and art projects.
Suggested Grade:   preK-2
Source: Colgate-Palmolive Company

Adventures of Mr. Reach
http://www.mrreach.com  

Information for parents and children on developing good dental hygiene 
Suggested Grade:   all ages
Source Johnson & Johnson

Programs and activities for Kids
http://www.metrokc.gov/kcdot/kids/
 Quizzes, word games, coloring pages and more activities about bicycle and pedestrian safety
Suggested Grade: K-3

Sparky the Fire Dog
http://www.sparky.org  

Young children will learn about fire education and other safety issues with Sparky as their guide
Suggested Grade:   K-5
Source:   National Fire Protection Association

Making Hearts Sing!
http://www.wildgear.com/stories  

A collection of international tales (French, Chinese, Korean, Russian, and more) with a theme of building traditional values.
Suggested Grade:   All ages

A+ Math
http://www.aplusmath.com
 

Users can view flashcards for basic mathematical functions as well as more advanced ones.   Math games are also available.
Suggested grade:   all ages

Algebra and Precalculus Tutorial Software
http://www.math911.com  

These programs will help you learn algebra, precalculus, and statistics.   Presented are quizzes on inequality symbols, signed number, remove parentheses, and lots more.
Suggested Grade:   7-12
Downloadable:   FULL PROGRAM

Math2.org
http://math2.org

A large number of math tables-from general math to advanced topics Suggested Grade:   all ages

Math Mastery
http://www.mathmastery.com  

Provides interactive math activities for essential math skills
Suggested Grade 2-8

White House Kids.Gov
http://www.whitehouse.gov/kids/

Let the president’s dog take you on a tour of the White House.   Great fun.

DLTK's Printable Crafts for Kids
http://www.dltk-kids.com

Excellent craft ideas

Ben's Guide to U.S. Governement
http://bensguide.gpo.gov/

This is a great site to learn about U. S. government.

Crayola.Com
http://www.crayola.com

Coloring pages and craft ideas

Coloring Book Fun.Com
http://www.coloringbookfun.com

Lots of pages on a wide variety of subjects

Ben & Jerry’s Fun Stuff
http://www.benjerry.com  

Screensavers, games, e-cards and other fun stuff
Suggested Grade: K-5

Arty the Part Time Astronaut  
http://www.artyastro.com/artyastro.htm

Students will learn about our solar system through games, quizzes, and fun activities. Click restart the Astro Ranger site for games.
Suggested Grade:   K-6

Puzzle Depot Newsletter
http://www.puzzledepot.com/
newsletter.shtml
 

For those interested in puzzles, board games, contents and trivia as well as related books and software for education and recreation.   includes puzzles as well as news.   Delivered approximately once a week via email. 
Suggested Grade:   all ages
Format:   Electronic Newsletter

Exploring Planets in the Classroom
http://www.spacegrant.hawaii.edu/
class_acts/index.html
 

More than 25 hands-on science activities in classroom-ready pates for both teacher and students exploring Earth, the planets, geology and space sciences

How to View an Eclipse
http://www.exploratorium.edu/
eclipse/how.html
 

Provides illustrated step-by-step directions for making a pinhole projector for viewing an eclipse.
Suggested Grade K-12

The Adventures of Science Bob
http://www.sciencebob.com
 

Provides information and experiments created by Science Bob-tutor to many of today’s TV and movie star students.
Suggested Grade   All ages  

Just for Kids 
http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/
kids/index.html
 

Site sponsored by University of Illinois Extension.
Suggested Grades: All Ages

Ask Dr. Universe
http://www.wsu.edu/DrUniverse  

Not only will you find answers to many science question that have already been asked, but you can ask Dr. Universe you own question, too Suggested grade:   All ages

Urban Programs Resource Network
http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu
 

An upper elementary program for teaching about plant science
Suggested Grade 4-8

Cool Science of Curious Kids
http://www.hhmi.org/coolscience  

An interactive site created to help kids appreciate science
Suggested Grade:   All ages

Volcano World
http://volcano.und.edu/

An assortment of articles, pictures, movies, games, and links relating to volcanoes
Suggested Grade:   All ages

School Express Library
http://www.schoolexpress.com/index.php

Bat Conservation International
http://www.batcon.org/

Presents articles, photos, and bat trivia
Suggested Grade:   All ages

GeoNet Game
http://www.eduplace.com/geo/index.html

A complete online game to help students learn more about the entire United States of selected geographical areas
Suggested Grade:   4-adult

Sheppard Software Geography
http://www.sheppardsoftware.com  

An educational game covering all fifty states and world geography quizzes.
Suggested Grade:   All ages
Downloadable FULL PROGRAM

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
http://www.getty.edu/research/
tools/vocabulary/tgn/index.html  

Presents geographic information about approximately 900,000 places Suggested Grade:   All ages

CBC 4 Kids
http://www.cbc.ca/kids/ 

Lots of educational links; especially good is the lab that gives a timeline of inventions among other topics.   A site of the Canadian Broadcasting Company

Hype History on Line
http://www.hyperhistory.com/
online_n2/History_n2/a.html

Information on this Web site spans 3000 years of world history
Suggested grade:   All ages

MapQuest
http://www.mapquest.com  

Create maps instantly
Suggested Grade:   All ages

Research-It!
http://www.iTools.com
 

One web site that allows you to search dictionaries, encyclopedias, Bible, maps and many more reference tools.

Rare Map Collection-The American Civil War
http://www.libs.uga.edu/
darchive/hargrett/maps/civil.html

A collection of maps related to significant events of the Civil War.   Go to the University of Georgia Hargrett site click on rare map collection.   Some really interesting maps that show where troops were positioned and battle plans
Suggested Grade:   9-12

A Kid's Heart
http://www.akidsheart.com

A Christian site that contains excellent abc interactive and reproducible pages also shapes and color activities and pages.

Jan Brett's Home Page
http://www.janbrett.com

The author of The Mitten and Hedgie the Hedgehog presents lots of ideas to go with her books and reproducible postcards, bookmarks, activity pages.

Return to the Reference Services Home Page

 

FADL Home | Contact Us | General Information | Catalog | Online Databases | Youth Services | Teen Resources | Reference Services | Local History | Upcoming Events | Non-Profit Resources | Michigan eLibrary | Meeting Rooms | Local Links | Friends of the Library | Site Index


Website updated March 26, 2007

If you have any questions, comments or suggestions, please feel free to email us at fadl@fremontlibrary.net.

Copyright © 2008. All Rights Reserved.
Fremont Area District Library, 104 E. Main Street, Fremont, MI 49412
Voice:  231-924-3480  Fax:  231-924-2355
fadl@fremontlibrary.net

The entrance to our parking lot is on Merchant Street.

Lakeland Libraries